ASABE CA/NV Section Awards

The ASABE CA/NV Section gives out awards annually in 3 categories:

Engineer of the Year (EOY): Awarded to an Engineer whose work has had significant, positive impact in our Section and the World.

Anniversary Milestone Awards: Awarded for years of ASABE membership, the anniversary milestone awards are given to members with 25, 40, 50, and 60+ years of membership.

Student Poster Competition Awards: Hosted at the Section Meeting each February, the top 3 posters in the undergraduate and graduate student categories are awarded a $300, $150, and $75 cash prize and are chosen by meeting attendees.

These awards are presented at the Section’s Annual Meeting, traditionally held on the second Wednesday each February. At this meeting, the Section also recognizes members who have received other ASABE awards and distinctions such as the AE50 Award.


2021 Award Winners

Engineer of the Year: Edward M. Norum, P.E. (CSU Fresno Center for Irrigation Technology)

Edward M. Norum-175

Edward Norum graduated from the University of Minnesota in 1953 with a degree in Agricultural Engineering. While still in college, he met a recruiter for the Hawaiian Sugar Planter’s Association (HSPA) Experiment Station and shortly after graduation boarded a Boeing Stratocruiser headed to Honolulu, Hawai’i. For 68+ years, Norum has worked on engineering and irrigation projects in over 20 countries and the United States, including 35 years in California. He served as the first director of the Center for Irrigation Technology (CIT) at California State University, Fresno where he is still active in research, testing, and standards work. Norum holds four patents with the most recent patent issued in 2020 for a drip line hydrocyclone.

Anniversary Milestone Awards 

  • 60+ Years: Wesley E. Yates (72), John R. Goss (70), Robert B. Skromme (70), Wiley H. Henson Jr. (69), Bill A. Stout (67), William R. DeTar (64), John C. Siemens (64), Donaldson S. Taylor (62), and Edward M. Norum (60)
  • 40 Years: Satyansu Kundu and William W. Seiders
  • 25 Years: Wendy J. Powers

Student Poster Competition Winners


2020 Award Winners

Engineer of the Year: Paul Burkner, P.E. (Ag Industrial Manufacturing)

2020 EOY; Paul Burkner2Paul was awarded the CA/NV Section Engineering of the Year Award for service to the members and especially Students of the CA/NV Section. His strong support and effort were invaluable in getting the Inaugural Student Rally off the ground. His company, Ag Industrial Manufacturing, was a key sponsor of the event, hosted a day of activities in Lodi, CA, and has long been a sponsor of our Section. Paul has also been a great voice for our Section in the Society, representing us as a member of the the ASABE Board of Trustees.

Anniversary Milestone Awards 

  • 60+ Years: Wesley E. Yates (71), John R. Goss (69), Willey H. Henson Jr (68), Bill A. Stout (66), John C. Siemens (63), William R. DeTar (63), and Donaldson S. Taylor (61)
  • 50 Years: Reid Borgwardt, Benjamin R. Olson, and Vashek Cervinka
  • 40 Years: Durham K. Giles, Raymond Marala, and Shrinivasa K. Upadhayaya

Student Poster Competition Winners


Past Award Winners

Updated Soon!